Engineering excellence rewarded


Following on from last month’s article, the BPMA staged its 18th Annual Pump Industry Awards Presentation Dinner at the tail end of March.

This key industry event was attended by over 200 senior executives from across the pump manufacturing and distribution sector, along with their pump-using customers.

The achievements and endeavours of some 34 Finalists were presented to the enthralled audience in an atmosphere of great anticipation, before the eventual winners were announced.

We have great pleasure in presented those very worthy winners, as follows:-

Winner – Technical Innovation of the Year – Products
Sponsored by Process Industry Informer
Awarded to Wilo UK Ceram-Teflon Coatings

Wilo metallurgists together with Teflon (Dupont), have successfully engineered a unique composite coating displaying the properties of both the CERAM-CT coating – (WRAS and KTW approved) and TEFLON – with its excellent non-stick characteristics used in domestic and industrial uses.

Winner – Technical Innovation of the Year – Projects
Sponsored by Wilo
Awarded to Xylem Water Solutions Foss Barrier Project

Foss Barrier Pumping Station upgrade – The scheme increases the pumping capacity of the asset from 32M3/s to 52M3/s, with no civil modifications. The existing pump columns and discharge facility were re-used incorporating replacement Xylem PL7125 axial flow pumps having a significantly increased capacity.

Winner – Environmental Contribution of the Year
Sponsored by SPP Pumps
Awarded to Danfoss Drives for its contribution to the Aarhus Water Project

Danfoss Drives’ has supplied 290 VSDs to the world’s first energy-neutral water and wastewater management system. The energy used for wastewater transport, water treatment and distribution in 2016 was 7.2 million kWh. The energy and heat produced by using gas from anaerobic sludge digestion over the same period was 7.4 million kWh, so the project now creates an energy surplus.

Winner – Distributor of the Year
Sponsored by WEG UK
Awarded to Clyde Associated Engineers

Service levels & Long term partnerships with Flowserve, NOV, Mono Pumps, Alfa Laval are our biggest strength.  Quality counts, Clyde are the first engineering company in Scotland accredited to the ISO9001:2015 standard. 

Manufacturer of the Year
Sponsored by Siemens
Awarded to KSB

Established in 1871, KSB has shaped the future of fluid handling for almost 150 years. Now one of the largest pump manufacturers in the world. KSB consistently strives to achieve greater benefits for customers and now takes on the production of the future; leading the way in Industry 4.0 Digitalization and Intelligent Network Solutions.

Supplier of the Year
Sponsored by Tomlinson Hall & Co
Awarded to ABB

ABB is committed to developing technologies and services that save energy, It is especially dedicated to helping pump operators to harness the opportunities offered by the Internet of Things (IoT), which it is achieving with products such as its dedicated water and wastewater variable speed drive, the ACQ580.

Engineer of the Year
Sponsored by World Pumps
Awarded to Luke Gardener, Grundfos Pumps

Portsmouth Aqua, had a vision to create simple to operate world class products, delivering safe drinking water. The solution realised through Luke and Grundfos ensured our product provides clean drinking water for humanitarian aid, wash water for agricultural farming and hospitals to mention a few applications.

Judges Special Award
Sponsored by Flowserve SIHI
Awarded to Danfoss Drives for the holistic approach to energy saving across the Aarhus Water Project

Lifetime Achievement
Sponsored by the BPMA
Awarded to Chris Rea OBE, AESSEAL


About Author

Comments are closed.